New Stories at The ImmPression

I was back to writing this week for The ImmPression after working as the publication editor last week.

My stories looked at two different sides of immigrant experiences in Canada: charity and exploitation.

Abdullah Ken, Ali Mian, Hafed Nabbus, Omer Jamshaid, Umar Iqbal and Brother Mumtaz. Photograph: Matthew Kupfer

Abdullah Ken, Ali Mian, Hafed Nabbus, Omer Jamshaid, Umar Iqbal and Brother Mumtaz. Photograph: Matthew Kupfer

On Saturday, I visited the Sadaqa Food Bank in downtown Ottawa. The volunteers at the food bank were welcoming and committed to making a difference in their community. I am looking forward to staying in touch with Brother Mumtaz and the volunteers who keep the food bank running. I produced a brief audio documentary and some pictures.

My second piece is about Bill C-56, the Conservatives latest attempt to fight human smuggling. This bill is revisiting of previous bill first proposed by Diane Finley back in 2007. My story focuses on the debate over whether denying exotic dancers work permits protects them and what would.

Both stories had challenges and forced me to think about how to talk to people who are facing difficult times in their lives – going to the food bank or possibly being exploited by their employer. I hope to pick up on both threads in the future.

Leave a Reply

